eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"After Kayden McKenna discovers the body of a fellow climber, she and Jake Westin team up to investigate the death--provoking threats on her entire family"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Minneapolis, Minnesota : Bethany House, 2014.
ISBN: 9781441264046
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jan 13, 2018

Good follow up to book #3, good insight into climbing and plenty of suspense

Aug 24, 2015

Dani Pettrey does a great job continuing her series. Three aspects that make this book great are the dynamic characters, realistic dialogue, and intriguing plot. For sure, Pettrey will not let her readers down.


Add a Summary
Aug 19, 2014

Jake Knew Something Was Wrong.
But He Never Guessed How Wrong.

A relaxing day of rock climbing takes a disturbing turn when Kayden McKenna's route brings her face-to-face with a dead climber. Is it a terrible accident or something darker? When the case is handed to overburdened sheriff Landon Grainger, he turns to Jake Westin for help. With Jake's past now revealed, he's ready to use his talent for investigation again--but he could never prepare for where the mystery will take him.

Kayden's climbing expertise soon leads her and Jake to the realization that the death was no accident. And worse, it seems the killer is onto them. When strange things begin happening in Yancey, Jake is terrified that once again his world may put someone he loves in danger. But the truth is far worse than he could ever imagine.

Silenced is the fourth book in the Alaskan Courage series following the adventures of the McKenna siblings. They own and operate an outfitting and adventure tour company. I love the setting, an island town in Alaska, and I love the characters and always eagerly await the next book. I'm a little unclear as to whether or not this is the last book in the series as it didn't entirely finish up the story of the last sibling, Reef, but I think it is.

My one beef with this book is that I wish the back story for Jake had been explained a little more at the beginning. I'm sure we were told more details in the last book but I read it quite a while ago. I would have found a recap helpful. It sort of comes out throughout the story but it felt like the author was alluding to things I either forgot or just didn't know.

While the books in this series each center around one sibling, and their love interest of course, there is enough going on within the family that I would recommend starting with the first book and reading them in order or you will miss out on a lot.

This has been my favourite series in the last couple years and while I will be sad to see it finish up, I'm excited to see what Dani Pettrey writes about next.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at CAPL

To Top